Kiln How - Newlands reviews

Kiln How - Newlands reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Photo of Kiln How - Newlands
Comfort and Equipment
6.3
Location
10.0
Cleanliness
9.3
Local amenities
7.3
Value for money
7.7
Overall rating
7.3
Scores 7.3 out of 10 based on 3 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
3 out of 10

Sara

Hull GB Family
We arrived late on the friday night to find the TV wall mount hanging out of the wall by only its bottom 2 screws, the fridge door doesn't close properly meaning it works intermittently, and not enough cutlery and crockery for 4 people to eat a meal with. Emailed the owner with pictures of the isuues the next morning and went out walking. Arrived back at the apartment to a pile of crockery and a post-it note from a friend of the owners saying the fridge has 'always been that way', and the TV wasn't like that when they cleaned, basically accusing us of causing the damage. I emailed back to assure them that level of damaged could not have occurred on its own and then received no response whatsoever from the owners for the rest of our stay. This is a major H&S risk as it could seriously injure an adult if it fell, or even kill a small child or dog.
The shower head stand keeps slipping down, looks like they tried jamming some plastic in there to keep it up, it doesn't work, hit my elderly father in the head when he tried to shower. The toilet seat is loose and slides around. All the doors need a bit shaving off the bottom as the carpet is so thick you can't open and close doors easily. The duvets are awful.
The location of the cottage however is incredible, there are so many beautiful walks literally from the door.
Its a shame, with a little renovation this would be a wonderful place to stay, but given previous reviews, it doesn't look like the owners are bothered.
Confirmed guest: 03 September 2021
Published on: 13 September 2021

Hello Sara, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay. We would have loved to have helped had we known. Rest assured, I will make sure everything you have highlighted is looked into and addressed. I hope you had a lovely time in the Lakes, it's a beautiful part of the world, isn't it?

10 out of 10

Lindsey

GB Family
A lovely apartment in an incredible setting.
Confirmed guest: 09 July 2021
Published on: 12 July 2021

Hi Lindsey, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it's a lovely place for a relaxing break isn't it?
I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.

9 out of 10

ADRIAN

Kent GB Friends
Another enjoyable stay at Kiln How.
Confirmed guest: 28 May 2021
Published on: 04 June 2021

Hello Adrian, Welcome back! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your return visit. Here's to more Cumbrian adventures.