The Barn (Longsleddale) reviews verified by reevoo
Comfort and Equipment
Value for money
Scores 8.2 out of 10based on 5 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
9 out of 10
The replacement of the bath with a shower is a great improvement as is the new cooker. Wonderful location for wildlife and wild flower meadows. Great to hear the Cuckcoo again.
02 June 2018
05 June 2018
10 out of 10
We have been coming to The Barn for over 20 years now because it's exactly what is described - a lovely, peaceful place to unwind. There is no internet and you probably won't get a phone signal unless you walk at least halfway up the nearest hill, but if you want a total escape from the everyday pressure of life, it's perfect. Although it seems remote once you get there, it's only a short drive into Kendal which has all the shops and facilities you might need.
The Barn is warm, comfortable and well equipped and in the most beautiful location. It makes a perfect base for exploring more of the Lake District or just sitting on the patio next to the River Sprint watching the wildlife and enjoying the peace and quiet. If you're feeling energetic, it's possible to do several good walks from The Barn without having to get in your car. Longsleddale is a gorgeous valley which never alters from year to year which, in these days of constant change, is fairly unique.
If you're interested in wildlife, during our stay in the valley we saw buzzards, kestrels (which had a nest nearby), a stoat, roe deer, red deer, and otters to name but a few.
So if you want an escape from real life and you're happy to leave the phone, internet, etc, behind you, just for a week or two, we highly recommend The Barn. It's lovely.
26 May 2018
27 May 2018
Hi Debbie. What a fantastic review! I feel like I've been on holiday with you.... And what a chilled out, relaxing holiday! Perfect! I hope you'll keep on coming to The Barn for years to come...
6 out of 10
The owner Helen is very nice and the Barn is in a spectacular location. We loved walks and views up and down the dale.
The Barn itself is very dated. It was obviously converted in 1970 and not really touched since!
Recommendations: paint the wood in main living area; change the carpets; keep an empty space in a cupboard for guests' food; put a shower in the bathroom; make movement around the double bed easier; provide a couple of store cupboard items, such as tea, coffee, sugar, vegetable oil.
Given the distance to the nearest shop, a pint of milk and a loaf of bread on arrival is very welcome and really doesn't cost a lot - a nice gesture that makes a big difference to guests. The Barn's biggest problems: the water issue which wasn't flagged on your website and there were mice! I'm pregnant and both issues made me anxious while I was there.
I've been staying in self-catering cottages at least once a year every year of my life and so my recommendations are considered and based on my experiences of other places I've stayed. I reiterate that we liked the owner though! We just were a little embarrassed about complaining face-to-face.
30 September 2017
11 October 2017
Hi Felicity, thank you for your review. The Barn really is in an incredible location, it's a walkers paradise.
I'm sorry to hear there was an issue with the water and you had some uninvited guests during your stay, if you had let me know at the time I could have sent someone out to take care of it for you.
I really appreciate your feedback and suggestions for improvement and will forward them on to Helen, thank you.
I hope your pregnancy goes well, exciting times ahead!