Toll Bar Cottage reviews

Toll Bar Cottage reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Photo of Toll Bar Cottage
Comfort and Equipment
8.9
Location
8.9
Cleanliness
9.7
Local amenities
9.4
Value for money
9.1
Overall rating
9.2
Scores 9.2 out of 10 based on 9 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
8 out of 10

Heather

Washington GB Family
Great location for walking into Keswick if you don't mind a climb which we don't.
The cottage was warm & cosy with constant hot water which is something we always look for in our accommodation.
Views from living room window are amazing!
Cottage obviously struggles with damp (visible from numerous dehumidifiers) & there was a daily occurance of woodlouse & millipedes which wasn't too much on an issue in first couple of days but after a week we'd had enough...
Super clean regardless of insects daily & cottage very well equipped with 3verything needed.
Utility area is a great addition for washing & drying very damp clothes in the rain.
Overall a great stay & a chilled week despite the weather being awful & this was due to the cottage having the comforts we enjoy.
Confirmed guest: 30 October 2020
Published on: 01 November 2020

Hi Heather, very many thanks for you comments, I'm sorry the weather wasn't the best for your stay. The owner is sorry that you experienced these issues during your time at the cottage. The property is listed and an older building, so it can experience minor condensation and this is why they have the dehumidifiers in place. We would have been happy to address any concerns you had with damp or insects, if you had made us aware at the time. Please always feel free to contact us with during your holiday. The owner has not found any issues with insects, but of course will monitor this moving forward. I'm delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time and would love to welcome you back again in the future.

8 out of 10

Jamie

Stafford GB Family
Lovely cottage, perfectly located for a brisk walk into town or upto Castlerigg. Beautiful views of blencathra and skiddaw and Bassenthwaite lake. Fully equipped with everything you need. You would definitely need to start the fire If staying in the autumn-winter months as the house is quite cold. Although we did not spend much time in the living room, it is full with books,games and a TV with plenty of channels.
Confirmed guest: 12 October 2020
Published on: 13 October 2020

HI Jamie, I'm so delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time - those views are amazing, aren't they? It sounds like you had a wonderful time! Here's to more Lake District adventures!

10 out of 10

Graham

HARLOW GB Couple
My partner and myself loved our stay at the Toll bar Cottage! It has great views from the rear of the property and these just inspire you to walk the various Wainwrights or simply go out and explore the surrounding area for photography or painting. The cottage itself was extremely clean and well maintained and feels very welcoming and a joy to return to after a day out and about. Even though it looks small it sleeps four and has two bathrooms, one ensuite, and does not feel like there is a lack of room or cramped. The location is about a 10 minute walk out of town...all down hill into town, all uphill on the return. As the Toll Bar Cottage sits on a corner of a road junction (hence its name) there is some road noise until about 21:00 then it becomes very quiet. We would both happily stay here again.
Confirmed guest: 02 October 2020
Published on: 03 October 2020

Hi Graham, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it's a lovely place for a relaxing break isn't it? The location is perfect if you enjoy getting out for some good walks.
I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.