Lovely place to stay, kitchen a little cramped for 6, great side garden with beautiful views and just a short trip either down Hardknott pass or Wast Water, so lots of fells just a short drive away. Great pub, the Bowerhouse Inn, little more than ten minutes walk. Local shop just 50 yards away.
Confirmed guest: 10 September 2021 Published on: 21 September 2021
Hi Lesley, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it's a lovely place for a relaxing break isn't it? The location is just perfect if you enjoy getting out for some good walks. I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.
7 out of 10
Located in a quiet part of the lakes but with access to superb walking away from the usual hotspots and the likes of Ambleside and Grizedale within an hours drive. Cottage itself is good but the drive is extremely steep to access and the kitchen a bit small for 6. Everything else perfect for a family who are looking for a good base for a walking holiday and the view sitting on the garden bench looking out to Muncaster and Ulpha takes some beating. 2 good pubs within walking distance both of which have excellent menus and are child friendly.
Confirmed guest: 03 September 2021 Published on: 14 September 2021
Hello Paul, It's a lovely place to escape from the hustle and bustle for a while, isn't it? Here's to getting away from it all more often!
2 out of 10
The video portrayed the cottage as light and airy, this was not our experience, also quite a few of the amenities weren’t in the cottage that were specified in the brief on the website, we found it very dark, cold and dusty. The waste pipe from the bathroom kept disconnecting and flooding the outside area, there was a dirty tissue in the second bedroom, a definite no during COVID and the drive is virtually impossible to get up , we scraped the bottom of our SUV on the incline. The garden also wasn’t fully enclosed which meant we had to take our dog out every time on the lead.
The local steam railway wasn’t stopping at the pick up point in Eskdale' the pub was always fully booked whilst we were there , on the whole a very disappointing stay and we came home early
Confirmed guest: 20 August 2021 Published on: 26 August 2021
Hello Sally, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry to learn of your disappointing experience. We would have loved to have helped with the problems you have highlighted with the cottage had we known. Rest assured I will make sure everything you have highlighted is looked into and addressed. I hope you had a lovely time in the Lakes, it's a beautiful part of the world, isn't it?