Rigg Green Cottage reviews

Rigg Green Cottage reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Photo of Rigg Green Cottage
Comfort and Equipment
8.1
Location
9.4
Cleanliness
8.5
Local amenities
7.9
Value for money
8.3
Overall rating
8.2
Scores 8.2 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
1 out of 10

Kenneth

Gloucester GB Couple
Riggs green cottage was very cold unclean and noisy due to building works going on, central heating not up to the job, only one open fire working had to spend money in logs to get one room a bit warm, overall not a very nice place to stay very disappointed, also drains were blocked so dishwasher overflowed so we had to mop the kitchen
Confirmed guest: 15 November 2019
Published on: 29 November 2019

Hello Kenneth, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Eskdale is such a beautiful place to explore, isn't it? I'm very sorry to hear you have been left feeling disappointed with your stay. The woodburning stove is now fully operational at the property and the drains have been cleared. We have not been able to recreate the issue you had with the heating, but I will of course keep an eye on this. You're always more than welcome to contact me if you need anything during your holiday and I would be happy to address any concerns you may have. I am liaising with the nearby property in regards to the building works and they are doing all they can to ensure that the impact on holiday visitors is minimised - the majority of the external work has now been completed. I hope we can welcome you back to The Lakes again very soon. If you'd like any help choosing the perfect property, please do let me know.

10 out of 10

Ian

Consett GB Family
Fantastic cottage, very well equipped. Great location, ideal for railway, local shop and pub. Some lovely walks nearby.
Confirmed guest: 24 August 2019
Published on: 25 August 2019

HI Ian, you're right, it's a fantastic location, isn't it? I'm delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful holiday!

9 out of 10

Ric

Derbyshire GB Family
Lovely stay at this surprisingly spacious cottage - it's full of character and has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing break away from it all. We took the steam train to Ravenglass and had a day mucking about on the dunes, then we went back again to go to Muncaster Castle - a really interesting old house with regular hawks displays. Two of our party managed the hike up Scafell Pike, which is easily accessed from nearby Wastwater. Took them three hours up and three hours down. We had some brilliant walks with the dog in the secluded woods nearby and even swam in the lake at Wastwater. Can't beat England on a gorgeous summer's day, we were pretty lucky with the weather. Several nice pubs nearby, we had Sunday dinner at the Bowerhouse Inn (five minute walk up the road) and sat out in the garden at the Boot Inn (ten minute drive to the next village).

Our only criticism is about the lack of a recycling collection in the area - even the local recycling bins in Eskdale Green village had no plastics section. We ended up taking our recycling back home with us - maybe some feedback to pass on to the local council. Time to up your game!

Thanks for a smashing holiday though, highly recommended.
Confirmed guest: 10 August 2019
Published on: 12 August 2019

Hi Ric, sounds like you crammed plenty of fabulous activities into your hols! So great to hear you had a wonderful time! And getting to the top of Scafell Pike too - amazing!