A very relaxing and comfortable holiday in a splendid location. Cottage really welcoming with ample accommodation, well equipped, spacious, excellent secluded garden. Lots of nice walks around, easy drive to Wast Water and to Devoke Water, a little known gem with fantastic views.
Confirmed guest: 24 September 2021 Published on: 02 October 2021
Hi Giovanna, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it's a lovely place or a relaxing break isn't it? I'm glad you enjoyed exploring and visiting some beautiful parts of the Lakes. Until next time!
1 out of 10
I was bitten very badly whilst away with what I now know to be bed bugs. I have tried to contact sally’s cottages to give them an opportunity to discuss with me but have received no reply.
The cottage smelt damp and of cooking when we arrived. There were dirty plates in the cupboard.
The location is very pretty but there is nothing in the village apart from a small village shop.
Confirmed guest: 27 August 2021 Published on: 14 September 2021
Hello Deborah, thank you for taking the time to write a review. You will see that we have also responded to the feedback you left on Facebook and have provided a detailed reply in response to your email. As stated in our email we sent you an update following an investigation by a professional pest control service.They confirmed that there was no evidence of bedbugs at all, neither did they find any other areas of concern. They will send through an official report in due course and we will happily send this on to you. We are sorry that you had some sort of reaction or received some bites. We have looked into this as urgently and fully as we can and we can confirm that there is nothing in Rigg Cottage that could have caused this situation. Bedbugs do tend to live on old, dirty mattresses and the owner has confirmed that the mattresses are brand new. They also leave blood stains and waste spots so are easily identifiable, neither of which are present on the mattresses. As well as this, no guests staying before or after your holiday have reported any similar issue. Once again, we are sorry that you are currently suffering and understand that it must be very uncomfortable. As the pest control agency has confirmed that there is no evidence of bed bugs following a thorough investigation, neither ourselves or the owner are able to take responsibility for this issue. We do hope that you are able to get to the bottom of the issue soon and that this helps with medication/treatment moving forward. If you have any further questions or would like a copy of the report, please let us know.
8 out of 10
Would love to go again
Confirmed guest: 13 August 2021 Published on: 19 August 2021
Hi Wendy, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your break. Come back any time, you can be sure of a warm welcome.