Bell Crags

Bell Crags reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Comfort and Equipment
6.8
Location
9.2
Cleanliness
7.0
Local amenities
5.2
Value for money
7.6
Overall rating
6.7
Scores 6.7 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
8 out of 10

Neil

Winchester GB Couple
We had a very enjoyable stay in bell crags. We did not experience previous mentioned issues with heating and lacking basic provisions and found the cottage to be comfortable and clean. As the cottage has such poor phone signal, providing wifi would add value
Confirmed guest: 05 January 2018
Published on: 07 January 2018

Hi Neil. Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. I'm so glad you were cosy and comfy in this lovely little cottage. Borrowdale's lovely whatever the season and I hope you were able to get out and about, walking and exploring, while you were here. One of the problems in the valley (and the Lakes generally) is the poor phone reception and I'll pass on your comments about wifi to the owners. Till the next time!

7 out of 10

Jenny

Keighley GB Couple
It was difficult accessing the key, if you came after dark you would need a torch
The central heating was not on, and despite following the instructions we could not make it work. The TVs also did not work. Helpful neighbours let us use the landline and to contact you and a handy man came fairly soon and rectified these issues, the heating needed a nec bottle, and the TVs needed retuning I think in December it was fair to say that heating should have been on when we arrived, and that the TVs worked, it was obvious from the amount of post that the cottage had not been visited. Recently.
That said, the subsequent time when we were there it was vey cosy and comfortable,
Confirmed guest: 10 December 2017
Published on: 11 December 2017

Hi Jenny, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear that there were a few issues when you arrived, I'm glad we were able to resolve them for you. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your break, the Borrowdale Valley is simply stunning isn't it? I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.

8 out of 10

Rachel

leek GB Family
Really enjoyed our stay at Bell Crags. It was a lovely comfortable Cottage in a stunning location, easy for walking and on a bus route with regular buses.
The inside of the cottage was basic but comfortable with enough crockery and kitchen equipment, lots of toys, games and books, a lovely open fire and comfortable clean beds.
The only things that let it down was a few issues that could easily be rectified. No spare bin bags and the we couldn't find a rubbish bin outside. There was food left in the house from the previous occupants and food wrappers in the drawers of the bedroom.
Also the boiler timer didnt work so it was either on or off.
On balance, the house was a lovely base for our walking weekend and felt like a home rather than a bland holiday cottage.
Confirmed guest: 30 October 2017
Published on: 04 November 2017

Hi Rachel, thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bell Crags. I hope you enjoyed some great walks during your stay, you really couldn't be in a better location!
I'm sorry to hear that some of the cleanliness wasn't up to scratch when you arrived. If you had let me know at the time I would have arranged for someone to come out and take care of it for you. I'll pass this on to the owner along with your suggestions for improvement. I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.

Find a cottage

Newsletter Signup