Bell Crags

Bell Crags reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Comfort and Equipment
6.8
Location
9.4
Cleanliness
7.1
Local amenities
5.2
Value for money
7.4
Overall rating
6.7
Scores 6.7 out of 10 based on 9 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
8 out of 10

Rachel

leek GB Family
Really enjoyed our stay at Bell Crags. It was a lovely comfortable Cottage in a stunning location, easy for walking and on a bus route with regular buses.
The inside of the cottage was basic but comfortable with enough crockery and kitchen equipment, lots of toys, games and books, a lovely open fire and comfortable clean beds.
The only things that let it down was a few issues that could easily be rectified. No spare bin bags and the we couldn't find a rubbish bin outside. There was food left in the house from the previous occupants and food wrappers in the drawers of the bedroom.
Also the boiler timer didnt work so it was either on or off.
On balance, the house was a lovely base for our walking weekend and felt like a home rather than a bland holiday cottage.
Confirmed guest: 30 October 2017
Published on: 04 November 2017

Hi Rachel, thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bell Crags. I hope you enjoyed some great walks during your stay, you really couldn't be in a better location!
I'm sorry to hear that some of the cleanliness wasn't up to scratch when you arrived. If you had let me know at the time I would have arranged for someone to come out and take care of it for you. I'll pass this on to the owner along with your suggestions for improvement. I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.

8 out of 10

John

Sheringham GB Family
This was a great location for us as the family had lived there in the passed.
Sorry to see that the Yew Tree Cafe had closed.
One problem the access for a disabled person. The outside steps were quite steep.
But all in all a great place for peace and quite.
Confirmed guest: 13 October 2017
Published on: 16 October 2017

Hi John, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bell Crags. How interesting that your family used to live here, I hope you enjoyed exploring the local area and visiting old haunts. Until next time.

4 out of 10

Jane

Lewes GB Family
In a great location for walks including Scafell Pike but no local amenities nearby and no network coverage. Because you have to go to Keswick for a shop I thought the cottage could at least provide enough toilet roll and dish washer tabs for the week. Also as there's no network coverage wifi is really needed at Cottage. Irritatingly there was a wifi code in Cottage info booklet crossed out! As other reviewers have said Cottage needs a bit of TLC: 1 of hob rings doesn't work, we couldn't always get TV to work and the kettle didn't turn off automatically. Why not provide towels? Surely wouldn't cost much. When people are paying extra for the parking and a long way from services a few more touches would make us go back. On plus side, heating was on and hot water at all times and kitchen well equipped. Beds very comfortable. Location great.
Confirmed guest: 18 August 2017
Published on: 20 August 2017

Thank you for your review of Bell Crags. Seatoller is a lovely hamlet and I am pleased that you made the most of the walks available locally. Unfortunately, due to the remote location and the nearby fells wifi is not available at the cottage which is why it is not advertised. I have passed your comments on to our Managed Services department who are looking into the issues you have raised. There should have been an initial supply of dishwasher tablets and toilet roll to get you started on your self-catering holiday. Towels are not provided as standard at any of our cottages but we would have been pleased to arrange for these to be made available on request. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy a soak in the bath after all the walks that you enjoyed.

Find a cottage

Newsletter Signup