North Tyneside Couple
- The cottage is nicely situated, private and peaceful. Fabulous gardens.
We were disappointed in the overall cleanliness of the cottage downstairs. The fridge freezer in the utility was mouldy and i needed to clean it upon arrival.
The sofas in the lounge are past their best no amount of colourful throws can hide their need of replacing. The dust lay thick and clearly visible on the tv and sideboard.
We had problems with broken down heating during our stay . This was unfortunate and no-ones fault and engineers were called but were struggling to fix it. The working Rayburn however was not functioning throughout our stay and was not at cooking temperature despite engineer looking at it whilst attending to fix the heating. This was a further disappointment as we love using aga/range on holidays. This too is possibly in need of an upgrade.The cottage/farmhouse is quite lovely and quaint in character but we felt it needed rescuing from looking tired and a little neglected.
We have stayed in many cottages in the lakes and this could be a good as any others with some t.l.c and a more thorough overall clean.
Published on: 16 October 2017
Hi Chris, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Howe Farm is perfectly situated for a relaxing, peaceful break isn't it?
I'm so sorry to hear that the cleanliness wasn't up to scratch when to arrived. If you had let me know at the time I would have arranged for someone to take care of it for you. I've passed this on to the owner along with your other feedback, thank you. It's such a shame that you had problems with the heating and Rayburn too, I hope this didn't cause you too much inconvenience. I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.