Dodds Howe Cottage

Dodds Howe Cottage reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Comfort and Equipment
Local amenities
Value for money
Overall rating
Scores 7.9 out of 10 based on 8 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
9 out of 10


Deeping St James GB Family
Dodd's Howe Cottage was easy to find. There is off road parking but we had to take off the bike rack to be able to close the gates. Building work was on and off but did not bother us as we were either out or it was raining too much to enjoy the large garden. The house was very warm and cosy with lovely decor and very comfortable beds. The kitchen was well equipped and the 2 fridges plus freezer soon got used! The washing machine and tumble dryer came in handy after we all got drenched and muddy when it poured down on the 1 3/4 mile walk from Windermere ferry to Beatrix Potter's house, Hilltop. Then we ended up not being able to go inside as you get a timed slot and it would have been an hour and a half wait in the rain as both pub and cafe were bursting. The world of Beatrix Potter in Bowness is not to be missed. We also recommend Levens Hall - all the kids loved the spot the bird and mouse in each room hunt and the deer park made a lovely walk. We would have given the cottage a higher mark for location if there had been a pub in that part of the village, unfortunately there is quite a walk down the road with no space for a footpath to the main part of Crosthwaite where there is a pub, school and church. We went to the Morrisons in Kendal about 20 mins drive away for provisions and swimming pool. That said, the cottage provided great accommodation and the games cupboard was brilliant.
Confirmed guest: 04 August 2017
Published on: 05 August 2017

Hi Lisa, thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a fab time at Dodds Howe Cottage, with the exception of the soaking! What a shame you didn't get to see Hilltop. A good excuse to come back!

8 out of 10


Leeds GB Family
Lovely cottage only let down was the building works didn't affect stay which are been carried out behind property and could do with a down stairs toilet otherwise it was a good stay shame about weather thanks for the cottage
Confirmed guest: 28 July 2017
Published on: 29 July 2017

Hi Andrew, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Dodds Howe Cottage. It's a shame the weather wasn't very good, let me know when you're coming back and I'll order blue skies and sunshine!

6 out of 10


Morpeth GB Family
The cottage was beautiful within a lovely setting and well decorated / nice furnishings however I would have hoped for the price that things such as toilet roll and towels were provided. We took our own towels as advised but as there are no local shops we had to go out looking for toilet roll! I also thought that the check out time of 10am was a little too early given that we didn't get the keys until 16.30. Overall a nice place to stay
Confirmed guest: 26 June 2017
Published on: 01 July 2017

Hello Emma, Thanks for your review. I have passed your comments on to the housekeeper as there should have been an initial supply of essentials to get you started on your self-catering holiday. The Lyth valley is a beautiful area especially when the damson trees are in blossom.

Find a cottage

Newsletter Signup