- The owner Helen is very nice and the Barn is in a spectacular location. We loved walks and views up and down the dale.
The Barn itself is very dated. It was obviously converted in 1970 and not really touched since!
Recommendations: paint the wood in main living area; change the carpets; keep an empty space in a cupboard for guests' food; put a shower in the bathroom; make movement around the double bed easier; provide a couple of store cupboard items, such as tea, coffee, sugar, vegetable oil.
Given the distance to the nearest shop, a pint of milk and a loaf of bread on arrival is very welcome and really doesn't cost a lot - a nice gesture that makes a big difference to guests.
The Barn's biggest problems: the water issue which wasn't flagged on your website and there were mice! I'm pregnant and both issues made me anxious while I was there.
I've been staying in self-catering cottages at least once a year every year of my life and so my recommendations are considered and based on my experiences of other places I've stayed. I reiterate that we liked the owner though! We just were a little embarrassed about complaining face-to-face.
Published on: 11 October 2017
Hi Felicity, thank you for your review. The Barn really is in an incredible location, it's a walkers paradise.
I'm sorry to hear there was an issue with the water and you had some uninvited guests during your stay, if you had let me know at the time I could have sent someone out to take care of it for you.
I really appreciate your feedback and suggestions for improvement and will forward them on to Helen, thank you.
I hope your pregnancy goes well, exciting times ahead!