The Barn (Longsleddale)

The Barn (Longsleddale) reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Comfort and Equipment
Local amenities
Value for money
Overall rating
Scores 8.3 out of 10 based on 7 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
6 out of 10


Maidstone GB Couple
The owner Helen is very nice and the Barn is in a spectacular location. We loved walks and views up and down the dale.

The Barn itself is very dated. It was obviously converted in 1970 and not really touched since!

Recommendations: paint the wood in main living area; change the carpets; keep an empty space in a cupboard for guests' food; put a shower in the bathroom; make movement around the double bed easier; provide a couple of store cupboard items, such as tea, coffee, sugar, vegetable oil.

Given the distance to the nearest shop, a pint of milk and a loaf of bread on arrival is very welcome and really doesn't cost a lot - a nice gesture that makes a big difference to guests.
The Barn's biggest problems: the water issue which wasn't flagged on your website and there were mice! I'm pregnant and both issues made me anxious while I was there.

I've been staying in self-catering cottages at least once a year every year of my life and so my recommendations are considered and based on my experiences of other places I've stayed. I reiterate that we liked the owner though! We just were a little embarrassed about complaining face-to-face.
Confirmed guest: 30 September 2017
Published on: 11 October 2017

Hi Felicity, thank you for your review. The Barn really is in an incredible location, it's a walkers paradise.
I'm sorry to hear there was an issue with the water and you had some uninvited guests during your stay, if you had let me know at the time I could have sent someone out to take care of it for you.
I really appreciate your feedback and suggestions for improvement and will forward them on to Helen, thank you.
I hope your pregnancy goes well, exciting times ahead!

8 out of 10


Felixstowe GB Couple
A wonderful location, so close to the river and under a sycamore tree.
Confirmed guest: 09 September 2017
Published on: 12 September 2017

Hi Karen, it sounds like you had a great time at The Barn. The setting really couldn't be much better could it? Until next time!

8 out of 10


Dordrecht GB Family
Very nice cottage on a beautifull location...between sheep,mountain and a lot of silence...
Confirmed guest: 05 August 2017
Published on: 13 August 2017

Hi Sonja, it sounds like you had a wonderful relaxing break at The Barn. the location is stunning isn't it? Just perfect for getting away from it all. Until next time!

Find a cottage

Newsletter Signup