Low Swinside

Low Swinside reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Comfort and Equipment
8.6
Location
9.4
Cleanliness
9.5
Local amenities
8.6
Value for money
9.5
Overall rating
9.1
Scores 9.1 out of 10 based on 34 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
8 out of 10

Urszula

Birmingham GB Family
This cottage is perfect for a large, adult family group. The owners were very helpful in terms of advising us on what the lorton village shop could offer and accommodated our request for an earlier check in so we could arrive in the light.

The only disappointment was the poorly kitted out kitchen. I had read reviews that had commented on certain aspects but none had been addressed as far as I could tell. We were left a couple of bottles of prossecco as a welcome but no champagne glasses to be had nor brandy/liqueur ones. One water jug not sufficient; about 5 huge saucepans of no use whatsoever so only one three pan set plus one stainless steel and Pyrex casserole. No deep sided serving dishes. No pastry brush; no kitchen aids such as electric whisk or liquidiser of any kind; I have learnt to bring my own knives but no carving fork; limited plastic boards and none suitable for a turkey or roast. Two huge fry pans but no smaller ones. One small kettle not enough. Etc etc etc
Confirmed guest: 28 December 2017
Published on: 29 December 2017

Hi Urszula! Thanks so much for your very helpful feedback. I'll be passing on your comments to the owners. I hope you were still able to enjoy your break and get out and about exploring while you were here. Hope to see you in the Lakes again before too long!

10 out of 10

Chris

Cumbria GB Family
Our family of 14 have just spent a week at Low Swinside. We have had such a pleasant time in this interesting house.
The owners, Philip and Femke were really helpful in ensuring that all our needs were met so that we could all be accommodated comfortably. The house was clean and warm on our arrival and very well equipped for a family party.

Our favorite times were eating at the big conservatory dining area in the evening. A The huge table served us all well too on dull or damp days as we sewed, drew, read or used the internet and enjoyed the breathtaking views across the valley.

After our evening meal we talked, played billiards or various board games and charades etc. One evening we all enjoyed dressing up for a 1920’s Murder Mystery Night arranged by our younger married grandchildren. The log fire and comfortable seating area, which we were encouraged to rearrange if we wished, added to the feeling of comfort, warmth and space.
On fine days we were able to walk. Wellingtons or boots are a must!

Cockermouth is very near and the village shop only minutes away so even though the house feels deliciously remote nestled in the fellside it is really convenient. The photos don't convey the flow of the house and the relationship of one room to another, so we were pleasantly surprised to discover passageways, stairways and nooks and crannies.
We ranged from ageds 72 down to 12 and every family member found lots to enjoy about this great holiday home. We only live about 20 miles away from it but love the area so it was ideal for us. Thankyou for a great house Philip, Femke and Sally’s Cottages, we have no hesitation in recommending it!
Confirmed guest: 21 December 2017
Published on: 22 December 2017

Wow, Chris! What absolutely super feedback - I feel like I was on holiday with you! I do love family get togethers and yours sounds perfect. I'm glad Philip and Femke were able to help you enjoy your stay even more! They're lovely as you found out! I do hope you'll be able to return one day.....

9 out of 10

Emma

Newcastle GB Family
Lovely house for a get together with family! Could do with a few extra things in the kitchen- gravy and custard are tricky without a jug (or anything that pours!)- but overall we had a great stay, and would definitely stay again.
Confirmed guest: 01 December 2017
Published on: 03 December 2017

Thanks for your feedback, Emma. I've passed on your helpful comment about the jug to the owner - thank you. I'm glad that was your only down spot and pleased you had such a great time. The Lorton valley is a fab base and I love those views! Till the next time!

Find a cottage

Newsletter Signup