Kiln How - Green Gable reviews

Kiln How - Green Gable reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Photo of Kiln How - Green Gable
Comfort and Equipment
5.5
Location
9.0
Cleanliness
9.0
Local amenities
8.8
Value for money
8.5
Overall rating
7.7
Scores 7.7 out of 10 based on 6 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
9 out of 10

Katherine

Gateshead GB Couple
Just returned from a fantastic week in Rosthwaite. The apartment is perfectly located for exploring the Lake District, with Keswick only a short drive away for when you need to stock up on essentials. The apartment was ideal for us with our dog. Yes, we would have liked more than 2 of everything (crockery & cutlery) and you really have to slam the apartment door to close it but it didn't certainly spoil our holiday (apologies to other guests!). The electric meter was filled for us on arrival and lasted through until the last day - much appreciated. Pete & Sue responded quickly when we needed to contact them. The Riverside Bar serves decent food and is only 100m away. Whilst we were unable to book a table (covid), we were happy to wait each evening until we could be fitted in (super staff!). Another truly excellent and highly recommended pub is The Langstrath Country Inn, a 15 minute walk away (essential to book!). Overall, a great little apartment in a superb location.
Confirmed guest: 27 August 2021
Published on: 06 September 2021

Hello Katherine, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You really can't beat getting away from it all, can you? Here's to more Cumbrian adventures!

7 out of 10

Mike

York GB Couple
Green Gable is a comfortable apartment in a beautiful location. There is lots to do with plenty of walking straight from the door. The apartment was clean and a good size for a couple.
However the apartment was very poorly equipped. There were no coat hooks other than one behind the bedroom door. This meant that when we came in from a day's walking with wet waterproofs there was nowhere to hang them to dry. The small entrance area was carpeted which is awkward when coming in with muddy boots. It would have been better if this had been laminate flooring like the adjacent bathroom.
The kitchen cupboards which had been left empty were too high up to use all but the bottom shelves and the light switch in the bathroom was a cord which was also very high.
In the kitchen there was no tin opener, no fish slice, no teapot, the kitchen scissors were blunt and the frying pans unusable. There were only 2 cups, 2 bowls, 2 knives, 2 forks, 2 spoons etc. which meant we were constantly having to wash up. Not an ideal way to spend a holiday.
None of these improvements would take a great deal of fixing.
I know some things had been removed for Covid safety but as Covid-19 is an airborne virus I don't think providing a reasonable amount of clean crockery and cutlery could possibly have put anyone at risk.
Confirmed guest: 13 August 2021
Published on: 20 August 2021

Hello Mike, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I really appreciate your feedback and I will make sure everything you have highlighted is looked into and addressed. I hope you had a lovely time in the Lakes, it's a beautiful part of the world, isn't it?

7 out of 10

Sally

Warrington GB Couple
No DVD player. Frying pan dirty.
Confirmed guest: 16 July 2021
Published on: 21 July 2021

Hello Sally, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I really appreciate your feedback and I will make sure everything you have highlighted is looked into and addressed. I hope you had a lovely time in the Lakes, it's a beautiful part of the world, isn't it?