Hillside Cottage reviews

Hillside Cottage reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Photo of Hillside Cottage
Comfort and Equipment
Local amenities
Value for money
Overall rating
Scores 7.8 out of 10 based on 4 reviews
4 out of 10


upper basildon Reading GB Couple
There are a lot of cons so let’s do the pros first. Fabulous location if you want to walk in the eskdale area. Peaceful location. Small grocery store in village. Kitchen nicely fitted and well equipped. Bathroom new and nicely done. Everything seemed to have been cleaned well. Now the cons . It is shabby chic without the chic. The walls desperately need a clean and / or a coat of paint. The sofas are covered but the covers are grey and grubby - it makes you feel dirty to sit on them . A separate "bucket" chair is paint splattered. The chairs at the dining table sag down when you sit on them. The lounge is overall very gloomy and unattractive. Everything is grey - even the wall decorations. Wooden furniture in all rooms is mostly old, stained and mismatched . Even the 2 bedside lamps in the main bedroom do not match and are cheap. And the main lampshade also cheap and not cheerful. If you try to open the bottom of the window in the main bedroom it opens a few inches then slams shut again. It will not stay open. The top window opens only about 2 cms . Consequently when we arrived it was like a sauna in the main bedroom with condensation running down the window. I dread to think what would happen if the weather had been hotter than 18 degrees. Overall the cottage feels damp and clammy.
Confirmed guest: 09 July 2021
Published on: 17 July 2021

Hello Christine, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I really appreciate your feedback and I will make sure everything you have highlighted is looked into and addressed. I hope you had a lovely time in the Lakes, it's a beautiful part of the world, isn't it?

10 out of 10


Butleigh Somerset GB Family
We spent a week at Hillside cottage in June and loved it despite the mixed weather. The house is more spacious than we thought from the photos and had very recently been refitted so the interior and equipment was immaculate. The house is on a quiet lane and the village shop has a very good range. A special mention for the boot dryer/warmer, brilliant! We definately will go back if we get chance, the house had a lovely feel including the outside shower/loo which worked unexpectedly well.
Confirmed guest: 25 June 2021
Published on: 21 July 2021

Hi Richard, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it's a lovely place for a relaxing break isn't it?
Come back any time, you can be sure of a warm welcome.