upper basildon Reading Couple
- There are a lot of cons so let’s do the pros first. Fabulous location if you want to walk in the eskdale area. Peaceful location. Small grocery store in village. Kitchen nicely fitted and well equipped. Bathroom new and nicely done. Everything seemed to have been cleaned well. Now the cons . It is shabby chic without the chic. The walls desperately need a clean and / or a coat of paint. The sofas are covered but the covers are grey and grubby - it makes you feel dirty to sit on them . A separate "bucket" chair is paint splattered. The chairs at the dining table sag down when you sit on them. The lounge is overall very gloomy and unattractive. Everything is grey - even the wall decorations. Wooden furniture in all rooms is mostly old, stained and mismatched . Even the 2 bedside lamps in the main bedroom do not match and are cheap. And the main lampshade also cheap and not cheerful. If you try to open the bottom of the window in the main bedroom it opens a few inches then slams shut again. It will not stay open. The top window opens only about 2 cms . Consequently when we arrived it was like a sauna in the main bedroom with condensation running down the window. I dread to think what would happen if the weather had been hotter than 18 degrees. Overall the cottage feels damp and clammy.
Published on: 17 July 2021
Hello Christine, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I really appreciate your feedback and I will make sure everything you have highlighted is looked into and addressed. I hope you had a lovely time in the Lakes, it's a beautiful part of the world, isn't it?