Gable Cottage reviews

Gable Cottage reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Photo of Gable Cottage
Comfort and Equipment
Local amenities
Value for money
Overall rating
Scores 7.3 out of 10 based on 12 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
8 out of 10


Leeds GB Family
The cottage is really well located on the quieter, western part of the lakes, with great access to Wast Water and the coast. The cottage itself was really well fit-out and pretty much what you can expect from a Sally's Cottage property. The view out the back on a summer's evening is just simply breathtaking and really what sets this row of cottages apart (we've stayed next door previously).

We did however notice the previous reviews and thought to get in touch with Sally's before the trip to see if they could rectify the stated issues. Thankfully Sally's were very responsive and managed to fix the issue with the garage door and also get someone in during the handover day to heavily cut back the garden, which made a world of difference.

Some minor issues would be the garage needs a bit of a clear out, especially with the pilling up of the recycling and the bedrooms were very hot overnight (granted it was a heatwave), but I would advise bringing fans. Also, I'd suggest making the hedge at the end a bit more maintenance-free as this really is the selling point of the cottage.

All in all a really great stay and we'd love to go back, maybe tick off the other cottages alongside this one.
Confirmed guest: 23 July 2021
Published on: 31 July 2021
5 out of 10


Peterborough GB Family
Although the cottage was clean and comfortable, it was a little dark and some of the lights were not working. Also the area around the front and back doors needed a lot of gardening attention, and the garden was very overgrown and needed a lot of attention to make it nice to sit in. The garage door where you needed to get some of the equipment and which housed the washing machine and tumble dryer was broken and dangerous to use.
Confirmed guest: 18 June 2021
Published on: 29 June 2021

Hi Judith, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so sorry to hear that there were some issues during your stay, you can always contact us here in the office and we will do our best to resolve any problems as quickly as we can. I really appreciate your feedback and suggestions for improvement and will make sure everything is addressed, thank you. I can confirm that the garage door has been fixed and the garden will be looked at over the weekend. I hope you still managed to enjoy your break, the location is stunning isn't it? Just perfect if you enjoy getting out for some good walks.
I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.

5 out of 10


GB Family
Cottage wasn’t as clean as you’d expect when we arrived. Especially with covid,?No welcome pack/booklet which is always disappointing. Garage door was broken/dangerous with a very old note saying “this will be fixed” neighbour says it’s been like that for months! It was also full of mouldy rubbish and the washing machine was mouldy.

No welcome gift either - not expected - but always starts a holiday on the right foot.

Shame really, Location is beautiful - it’s just the little things that make all the difference
Confirmed guest: 04 June 2021
Published on: 11 June 2021

Hello Mark, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I really appreciate your feedback, although I am sorry to hear that you had some concerns during your stay. Please do always feel free to contact me and I will always do my best to rectify things then and there. Please be assured we will be looking into all of the points you have raised and the garage door has now been fixed. I hope you had a lovely time, it's a beautiful part of the world, isn't it?