Crag Lea reviews

Crag Lea reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Photo of Crag Lea
Comfort and Equipment
6.7
Location
9.1
Cleanliness
7.6
Local amenities
7.4
Value for money
7.3
Overall rating
7.1
Scores 7.1 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
3 out of 10

Christopher

Wilts GB Family
Very cold and damp cottage. Shower broken and not repaired despite it being reported
Confirmed guest: 04 January 2021
Published on: 07 January 2021
5 out of 10

Claire

GB Couple
The location was amazing with lovely views, the enclosed garden was great for the dogs.
The whole house is in need of renovation.
Kitchen - lack of cupboards, draw in kitchen falling off, wallpaper hanging off the wall, the blind was covered in mould, the kettle was full of mould and had to be bleached, all very dated.
Back porch- walls absolutely Covered in black mould.
Lounge - was the only room that seemed clean and had been updated at some point, WiFi was a very old hub poor signal and if a new hub was purchased there wouldn’t be a problem it was the age of the hub causing the issues And very poor internet.
Front Bedroom - both corner walls again covered in mould (very bad), bed very old and soggy.
Bathroom - shower terrible, shower head broken and no pressure, mould in bathroom sink.
The whole house was very cold and heating timing was out as it had not been changed and due to the settings of temperature the heating didn’t even kick in.
Confirmed guest: 12 December 2020
Published on: 13 December 2020

Hi Claire, thanks for your review of Crag Lea - it's such a magical place, isn't it! And the garden is absolutely fab!

I'm sorry to hear that you felt that the property wasn't as you would have expected. I have spoken with the owners, and they're actually planning on having the kitchen replaced in 2021! They will also be carrying out some general maintenance on the property in the New Year, so it'll be getting a bit of a refresh.

Crag Lea was actually inspected by one of our team on the morning you arrived at the property - we haven't been able to find mould to the extent that you have mentioned in your review or any wallpaper coming away, however we will certainly keep an eye on this, and we thank you for bringing it to or attention.

I'm sorry to hear that you had trouble with the WiFi and heating during your stay. We are available from 8:30am-9pm 7 days a week, and we would always ask guests to let us know about any issues straight away so that we can do everything we can to resolve this. The heating is set to come on at certain times but guests are able to override this using the boost button. We have mentioned the router to the owners, and they are intending to replace this.

I do hope that we will look forward to welcome you back to the Lake District in the future!

10 out of 10

Jules

Frodsham GB Couple
In October 2020 my wife, the dog and I went back to Grange after many years away, and we're so glad we chose Crag Lea. It is a large cottage just out of the centre of Grange, with a totally enclosed rear garden (safe for dogs) and views to die for! It has a lovely living room with multi-fuel stove, comfortable furniture, and a decent TV (Freeview with good reception) and DVD player. The kitchen/dining room is lovely, with a good selection of quality crockery/cutlery, modern appliances and a large dining table. At the back is a laundry room with modern appliances, and a downstairs WC. The bedrooms were lovely with a choice of double or twin beds, all with marvellous views. It has a spacious bathroom with electric shower over the bath. Overall the cottage was warm (excellent central heating), comfortable, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. If you want to stay in Grange with its wonderful scenery and countless walks straight from the village, you can't go wrong with Crag Lea - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
Confirmed guest: 17 October 2020
Published on: 18 October 2020

Hi Jules, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it's the perfect place to get away from it all isn't it?
The location is simply stunning, just perfect if you enjoy getting out for some good walks. And the cottage is lovely and cosy to come home to after a day out in the fresh Lakes air.
I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.