Brandle How reviews

Brandle How reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Photo of Brandle How
Comfort and Equipment
7.3
Location
9.6
Cleanliness
8.5
Local amenities
7.8
Value for money
8.3
Overall rating
7.5
Scores 7.5 out of 10 based on 8 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
5 out of 10

Carolyn

Nottingham GB Couple
Bearing in mind the price for renting this property, you would expect it to be basic. Which it was. It has the potential to be a lovely little hideaway, but just misses the mark. It’s a shame really, as a little investment would make it really cosy. The kitchen is very tired, with the cupboard doors not fitting or opening/closing properly. A few little extras would help (a colander for example, or more space to store food). There was a sign to ask you not to wear your shoes into the main property, however the door area is really small so one person has to wait outside in the rain while the other takes their shoes off. Just a tiny roof over the door would make that so much better. An outdoor brush to sweep the steps would also be useful in autumn and would keep the property cleaner. It’s very dark in the living room, which you expect given the location, however better lighting would sort this out. When we arrived, the fire was packed full of rubbish and could have been dangerous. Even when set by people who are used to a log burner, it has a tendency to fill the room with smoke. We left it set and ready for the next people when we left. There’s fly paper held up with a plastic bag on the curtain rail, with a small collection of dead flies. As other reviewers have said it would benefit from a small sofa rather than two chairs, as this would be much more comfortable. The bedroom is a very tight squeeze and there is nowhere really to put your luggage or clothing as the cupboard is full of things like the hoover and ironing board. There’s lots of dust and cobwebs down the back of the bed. Other reviewers have mentioned the noise from above and I think this depends on the people who are staying. When we were there, it sounded like they were moving the furniture. We also suspect they were on a romantic break as the squeaky bed upstairs seem to be getting a lot of action most days. Rather difficult to sleep in those circumstances! In the bathroom, the flooring needs to be changed as it’s rather dirty and tired. The bath itself is rather difficult to get in to so a handrail would help and the showerhead is currently held up with a plastic bag and two cable ties. The two fabric shower curtains stick to you while you’re trying to shower and both looked like they could’ve done with a clean. The bath has also seen better days. It’s dogs tolerated rather than welcome, as they are only allowed in the very small living room. On the plus side, there are some lovely walks straight from the cottage. Overall, if you’re expecting basic then that’s what you’re going to get and it is a dry, warm space on a wet Lakeland day.
Confirmed guest: 30 October 2020
Published on: 31 October 2020

Hi Carolyn, very many thanks for taking the time to leave such detailed comments. I'm sorry that, on this occasion, everything was not as you would have liked and I will take the time to investigate and come back to you with a more detailed response shortly. I'm pelased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and got plenty of walking done.

8 out of 10

M

Staffs GB Couple
A cosy, well-equipped cottage however, being a basement flat it is quite dark. The lighting in the living room is very poor, not enough to read a book or look at a map by. Good location, footpaths from the door. A pleasant stay but we spent most of the time outdoors as it was too good to be inside.
Confirmed guest: 05 October 2020
Published on: 06 October 2020

Hi M, many thanks for your comments, I'll flag the lighting issue with the owners. I'm pleased to hear you had such a good time and got plenty of exploring done too! A warm welcome awaits whenever you return!

8 out of 10

Lisa

Beverley GB Couple
Perfect location, cottage had everything we needed. It’s tucked away in a lovely quiet spot, ideal for a base to go off exploring. Lots of birds visiting the bird table to watch while enjoying breakfast, thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.
Confirmed guest: 18 September 2020
Published on: 20 September 2020

Hi Lisa, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it's a lovely place for a relaxing break isn't it?
I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.