Blencathra reviews

Blencathra reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Photo of Blencathra
Comfort and Equipment
5.7
Location
7.7
Cleanliness
5.6
Local amenities
5.4
Value for money
5.3
Overall rating
5.9
Scores 5.9 out of 10 based on 7 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
10 out of 10

Sandra

Liverpool GB Family
The holiday was lovely the pub and all the staff are lovely and helpful
Confirmed guest: 19 July 2021
Published on: 26 July 2021

Hi Sandra, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it's a lovely place for a relaxing break isn't it?
Come back any time, you can be sure of a warm welcome.

10 out of 10

Kim

GB Family
Holiday cottage was lovely. Really clean and well presented. Only let down was the pub owned by the cottage owners. Went for a drink to be sat outside and told somebody would come to take our drinks order. Sat half an hour before we went and asked again if we could order drinks to be told they were taking no more orders they were too busy. This was fine and understandable however leaving us outside in the cold with a child for half an hour was unacceptable
Confirmed guest: 14 June 2021
Published on: 21 June 2021

Hi Kim, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it's a lovely place for a relaxing break isn't it? The location is stunning, I hope you enjoyed exploring.
I'm sorry to hear you were kept waiting at the pub, I know a lot of hospitality businesses in the Lakes are struggling to keep up with demand at the moment and are finding it hard to recruit more staff.
I hope you can come back to explore more of the Lakes soon.

3 out of 10

Jane

Isle of Man GB
Not very welcoming upon check in, which made me very reluctant to speak to the owner about the problems. The cottage could be lovely, but quite dated and not very clean. Toaster tray full of crumbs, dirty cutlery drawer, with dirty cutlery as well, to name a few. Bearing in mind with the current climate and the fact that it is said that the properties are deep cleaned between each letting, this is clearly not the case. Screw hanging out of wall plug where the toaster was plugged in. There was a very strong smell of oil from the boiler in the kitchen, meaning you needed the windows open, thankfully it was summer. Also having stripped the bed as requested was quite dismayed to see the stained duvet, thankfully I did take my own pillow.
Having checked on previous reviews back in 2020, it seems that most of the above problems have been highlighted before and still nothing has been done about it.
I certainly would not stay here again and could not recommend it.
Confirmed guest: 11 June 2021
Published on: 23 June 2021

Hello Jane, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I really appreciate your feedback and I will make sure everything you have highlighted is looked into and addressed. I hope you had a lovely time in the Lakes, it's a beautiful part of the world, isn't it?