Moscow, ID, USA Family
- We spent Christmas at Applegarth with a family group ranging from teens to an 88 year old. It was good value for money - places this size are often more expensive at this time of year - but I would not have paid more. Some of the furniture is quite tired and even some broken bits. In the top floor master the drawers on the dresser are falling apart. Most of the furniture seems to be flat pack put together and not good quality.
The kitchen was well-equipped with lots of pots, pans, glasses and cutlery though the cutlery was very cheap. The dining room is small for the size of the table, difficult to move around with lots of people in - but the table is fabulous. Although claiming to be able to squeeze 14 around the table, it is not suitable for 14 adults. Neither are there seats for 14 adults in the sitting room, but adequate for families with younger children.
As with many places, there is nowhere to put anything in the shower. Soap and shampoo must sit on the floor. A caddy is a simple and cheap remedy.
Published on: 20 January 2020
Thank you for your review and I’m pleased you had a great Christmas.
We’ll be sure to pass your feedback onto the owner. If you had let us know about the broken drawers we would happily have sent someone out to fix them or even replace them if necessary.
We do advertise the cottage as sleeping 12/14, it is mainly set up for 12 people but if there are an extra couple of people in your group there is a sofa bed on the top floor which is also available for use.
We hope you’ll be back to visit us in the Lakes again on your next trip to the UK!